Source - RNS
RNS Number : 2875K
GlaxoSmithKline PLC
20 September 2016


GlaxoSmithKline plc (the "Company")

Board change

GSK appoints new CEO


GSK today announces that Emma Walmsley, currently Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of GSK's Consumer Healthcare division, is appointed GSK CEO Designate and will succeed Andrew Witty as GSK CEO, when he retires on 31March 2017. Emma will join the GSK Board of Directors from 1 January 2017

Emma is currently CEO of GSK Consumer Healthcare, one of the world's largest consumer health companies, established in 2015 following completion of GSK's three-part transaction with Novartis.

Prior to this, Emma was President of GSK Consumer Healthcare and has been a member of GSK's Corporate Executive Team since 2011.  Emma joined GSK in 2010 from L'Oreal where, over the course of her 17-year career, she held a variety of marketing and general management roles in the UK, Europe and USA. From 2007 she was based in Shanghai as General Manager, Consumer Products for L'Oreal China.

Philip Hampton, GSK Chairman, said: "I am very pleased to announce Emma's appointment, after what has been a very thorough and rigorous global selection process carried out by the GSK Board of Directors. 

Emma is an outstanding leader with highly valuable experience of building and running major global businesses and a strong track record of delivering growth and driving performance in healthcare. Under Andrew's leadership, GSK has successfully developed into a company with market-leading positions in pharmaceuticals, vaccines and consumer healthcare.  These provide excellent platforms for sustainable, long-term growth, and we are confident Emma will successfully build on these strengths."

Emma Walmsley said:  "I am delighted and honoured to be appointed GSK's next CEO. GSK is a company that leads both in science and in the way it does business. We have momentum in the Group and as the demand for medical innovation and trusted healthcare products continues to rise, we have the opportunity and the potential to create meaningful benefits for patients, consumers and our shareholders. I'm looking forward to working with Andrew and other leaders over the next few months to ensure a smooth handover and to develop plans for 2017 and beyond."


V A Whyte

Company Secretary


20 September 2016






1.         Remuneration arrangements


GSK's remuneration policy is currently under review and the Remuneration Committee will begin consultations with shareholders in the fourth quarter of 2016. The Committee has decided that the different elements of Ms Walmsley's remuneration will be determined following these consultations and will be in line with the new policy.

The Committee therefore expects to set and publish a new base salary for Ms Walmsley on her appointment to the Board on 1 January 2017. Details of Ms Walmsley's total remuneration, including long-term incentives, will be published in the Company's 2016 Annual Report. The remuneration policy will be presented to shareholders for approval at the Annual General Meeting in 2017.

2.         Shareholding information


Ms Walmsley has an interest in excess of 200,000 GSK ordinary shares.

3.         Regulatory disclosure

The Company confirms that, in respect of Listing Rule 9.6.13R(1), Ms Walmsley is a Non-Executive Director of Diageo plc, and that, in respect of Listing Rules 9.6.13R (2)-(6), there are no details to disclose.

With effect from 1 January 2017, the composition of the Board of GSK will be as follows:

Sir Philip Hampton        

Non-Executive Chairman

Sir Andrew Witty

Chief Executive Officer

Ms Emma Walmsley

Chief Executive Officer Designate

Mr Simon Dingemans

Chief Financial Officer

Dr Moncef Slaoui

Chairman, Global Vaccines

Professor Sir Roy Anderson

Independent Non-Executive Director

Mr Vindi Banga

Senior Independent Non-Executive Director

Ms Stacey Cartwright

Dr Vivienne Cox

Independent Non-Executive Director

Independent Non-Executive Director

Ms Lynn Elsenhans

Dr Jesse Goodman

Independent Non-Executive Director

Independent Non-Executive Director

Ms Judy Lewent

Independent Non-Executive Director

Mr Urs Rohner

Independent Non-Executive Director


GSK - one of the world's leading research-based pharmaceutical and healthcare companies - is committed to improving the quality of human life by enabling people to do more, feel better and live longer.  For further information please visit


GSK enquiries:




UK Media enquiries:

David Mawdsley

+44 (0) 20 8047 5502



Simon Steel

+44 (0) 20 8047 5502



Anna Carruth

+44 (0) 20 8047 5502






US Media enquiries:

Sarah Alspach

+1 202 715 1048

(Washington, DC)


Sarah Spencer

+1 215 751 3335






Analyst/Investor enquiries:

Ziba Shamsi

+44 (0) 20 8047 5543



Tom Curry

+ 1 215 751 5419



Gary Davies

+44 (0) 20 8047 5503



James Dodwell

+44 (0) 20 8047 2406



Jeff McLaughlin

+1 215 751 7002



Inside information

The information contained in this announcement is inside information. If you have any queries on this, then please contact Victoria Whyte GSK Company Secretary (responsible for arranging the release of this announcement) at GSK House Brentford, Middlesex, TW8 9GS on +44 208 047 5000.


Cautionary statement regarding forward-looking statements
GSK cautions investors that any forward-looking statements or projections made by GSK, including those made in this announcement, are subject to risks and uncertainties that may cause actual results to differ materially from those projected. Such factors include, but are not limited to, those described under Item 3.D 'Risk factors' in the company's Annual Report on Form 20-F for 2015.



Registered in England & Wales:

No. 3888792


Registered Office:

980 Great West Road

Brentford, Middlesex



This information is provided by RNS
The company news service from the London Stock Exchange