Source - LSE Regulatory
RNS Number : 4944I
02 April 2020


Jane Griffiths to join the Board as a Non-Executive Director

The Board of BAE Systems plc is pleased to announce the appointment of Jane Griffiths as a non-executive director of the Company with effect from 1 April 2020.

Until retiring in December 2019, Jane Griffith enjoyed a long career with Johnson & Johnson, during which she held executive roles in clinical research, international and strategic marketing, product management and operational management.  In her last role before retirement, Jane was Global Head of Actelion, where she led the integration of the Swiss biotech business following its acquisition by Johnson & Johnson.  Prior to that she had been Company Group Chair of Janssen EMEA, the group's research based pharmaceutical arm.   During her time with Johnson & Johnson she led its Corporate Citizen Trust in EMEA and sponsored its Women's Leadership Initiative.  She was also sponsor of Janssen's Global Pharmaceuticals Sustainability Council.

Jane is a past chair of the Executive Committee of the European Federation of Pharmaceutical Industries and Associations, past Chairwoman of the PhRMA Europe Committee and former member of the Corporate Advisory Board of the UK Government backed 'Your Life' campaign, aimed at encouraging more people to study STEM subjects.

She is currently a non-executive director of Johnson Matthey Plc and a member of the board of directors of TB Alliance, a not-for-profit organisation dedicated to the discovery, development and delivery of better, faster acting and affordable tuberculosis drugs that are available to those who need them.

Sir Roger Carr, Chairman of BAE Systems plc, said: "I am delighted that Jane Griffiths has joined the BAE Systems Board.  She has an impressive record of leading research-led, high technology businesses and brings a wealth of international corporate experience to the Board.  Her advocacy and support for women business leaders is particularly noteworthy and relevant in helping us make further progress against our own diversity and inclusion objectives."

Jane Griffiths has no details to disclose under Listing Rule 9.6.13.

Nick Rose term of appointment

The Board is pleased to confirm that Nick Rose has agreed to extend his term of appointment as a Non-Executive Director of the Company for up to one further year in order to support the Company through a challenging period associated with the Coronavirus crisis.  His knowledge of the Company accumulated over the last ten years as a Board member, and his past roles as Chair of the Audit Committee and Senior Independent Director, will be invaluable in navigating the Company through these uncharted waters.   

Current Board Membership

As previously announced, Tom Arseneault and Brad Greve also joined the Board on 1 April 2020; Tom has succeeded Jerry DeMuro as President & CEO of BAE Systems, Inc., and Brad has succeeded Peter Lynas as Group Finance Director. 

Following the above changes, the composition of the BAE Systems Board is as follows:

Chairman and Executive Directors
Sir Roger Carr - Chairman
Charles Woodburn - Chief Executive
Tom Arseneault - President & CEO, BAE Systems, Inc.
Brad Greve - Group Finance Director

Non-Executive Directors
Revathi Advaithi
Elizabeth Corley
Jane Griffiths
Chris Grigg
Stephen Pearce
Nicole Piasecki
Paula Rosput Reynolds
Nick Rose
Ian Tyler



This information is provided by RNS, the news service of the London Stock Exchange. RNS is approved by the Financial Conduct Authority to act as a Primary Information Provider in the United Kingdom. Terms and conditions relating to the use and distribution of this information may apply. For further information, please contact or visit
Find out how to deal online from £1.50 in a SIPP, ISA or Dealing account.